Unleash the power of 3D

Tagged: 

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    unkerjay
    Participant
    • Posts 3

I’ve got 2.79, 2.83, 2.9x installed on my system (MacBook / BigSur).

I’m new to Apple, used Windows, as well as Linux.

I say that to say that I’m not averse to new (or different).  It’s why I hold out hope for BFA.

I like the clean interface, that it’s “for Artists” which suggests with me in mind.

My sticking points:

1) I’ve grown up with right click on Blender.  Counter-intuitive thought it may be.  I’m used to it.
    Don’t see an easy way to readjust navigation to that.

2)  I’ve got a ton of addons.  With most versions of Blender there’s an option to pull over the previous version’s configuration.  I fully understand that’s got some caveats / exceptions with BFA.  That being said, having to re-install each addon and manually restore my quick favorites impresses me as a ROYAL pain.

Is there some way to do that and still largely maintain the look and feel of BFA?

I’m not seeing it.

To be fair, I just downloaded, installed it, haven’t used it nearly as much as I might like and these things are getting in the way of that.

3) Blender for me has been Tab – Edit mode.  I Tab.  Nothing happens.

Shift A (doesn’t) add an object.  Looks nice.  Dead in the water at this point.

I’m thinking not just a new interface with all the bells and whistles but, how to migrate from an existing system that maintains the functionality of the old system integrated into the new bells and whistles of BFA.

Short of that, it’s nice to look at but, beyond that, I’m not doing much else.

It’s like buying a new car, where everything has been moved, changed, renamed, redesigned.

Looks nice, but so far, impractical for my purposes.

Is there a video for this?  Or some helpful hints / suggestions?

Thanx

#22411 Likes: 0
    BFA-Reiner
    Keymaster
    • Posts 719

Hi unkerjay,

Let’s see if i can answer some of your questions here.